Chocolate Salted Caramel Cupcakes

Salted Caramel Chocolate Cupcakes

I’ve been craving salted caramel chocolate things since I had my first taste of the Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate at Starbucks. I’ve been scouring the web looking for recipes and combing as many ideas as I could to create one that was slightly original.

It seems like it’s impossible to have anything that’s completely original these days, but I think that’s okay. I love to take a recipe and add my own twist to it. That’s where these came in.

I wasn’t even going to make chocolate cupcakes this week, but I saw the mini Rolos in the store and I couldn’t resist!

I used a small boxed cake mix (one that only makes 12 cupcakes). I added the ingredients called for on the package and made one addition. I added a bit of the cake mix to 12 of the mini Rolos and tossed them to coat.

I lined a 12-ct cupcake pan with liners and used my disher to scoop out equal amounts of batter into each cup. I then took 1 of the mini Rolos and added it to the center of each filled cup and pushed it down slightly. I used my finger to cover it with batter.

I baked the cupcakes according to the package directions. After cooling them completely, I prepared the frosting. Again, I took a cheater’s way by using Duncan Hines’ new Flavor Creations frosting in the caramel flavor.

After mixing the frosting, I melted some caramel bits that I had leftover from a previous recipe with some water and topped each cupcake with the caramel.

(The one cupcake that was missing went to my dad– he simply couldn’t wait for me to frost one to eat it.) Once the caramel cooled, it was time to frost with the caramel frosting.

Finally, I drizzled a chocolate glaze over the cupcakes and topped it with some coarse ground Himalayan Pink Salt.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I topped each finished cupcake with half of a mini Rolo (because I didn’t have enough for one on each!).

 

The mini Rolo inside each cupcake ended up melting into the cupcake, but created a sweet bite nonetheless. If I make these again I will definitely be making my own caramel frosting and using a full size Rolo in the middle.

Leave a Reply

