Independence Day Flag Cake

I have made red, white, and blue tie-dyed cupcakes before. I even made a surprise flag cake (with the flag inside) but I hadn’t ever done a simple flag cake.

While shopping at the craft store awhile ago, I checked out the clearance section. In it, I found a Wilton Flag Shaped pan for half price! I couldn’t resist.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I decided to make the cake with red, white, and blue cake and swirl them. In order to do so, I started with a basic vanilla/ white cake mix and the required ingredients.

Once mixed, I separated the batter evenly into three bowls.

I tinted one bowl red, and one bowl blue using my Wilton colors in “Red-Red” and “Royal Blue”. (The exact measure will depend on the shade of red and blue that you desire.)

 

After I greased the cake pan thouroughly to ensure easy removal, I added the batter. I added 1/3 of the white first, then swirled in 1/3 of the red and 1/3 of the blue. I continued to layer in the batters until they were used. I then baked the cake according to the package directions for a 13×9 pan.

 

Once the cake was cooled, it had a huge dome in the middle, so I trimmed it down and saved the trimmings for a snack. (I hate to waste anything!) While the cake cooled, I mixed a small bit of blue frosting and a larger bit of red frosting for decorating. (Again, exact measures will depend on the saturation of your desired color.)

I spread a bit of frosting on a cake board and flipped the cake over onto it. After a thin crumb coat, I spread my buttercream (recipe to follow) thickly on the top and sides. I began with marking off the blue portion, then I piped on the stripes, beginning with red and leaving enough space between to add in the white frosting later.

I added a thick layer of the blue in the corner and using a small star tip and a piping bag with white frosting, I added stars.

After piping a white border around the bottom of the cake, I added star sprinkles and red, white, and blue sanding sugars.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get the right number of stripes or stars (and I apologize wholeheartedly for that!) And I know that my piping needs work, but it should be delicious, all the same.

You’ll need:

1 18.25oz box of Vanilla/White Cake Mix (or your favorite white cake from scratch)

1 (9×13) cake pan OR Wilton Flag Cake Pan

1 recipe Vanilla Buttercream (recipe follows)

Wilton Red-Red Color

Wilton Royal Blue Color

Red, White, Blue Star Sprinkles (optional)

Red, White, Blue Colored Sugars (optional)

Best Buttercream

You’ll Need:

2 sticks (1 cup) softened unsalted butter

1 cup vegetable shortening

2 lbs powdered sugar

3-6 Tablespoons of milk or heavy cream

2 teaspoons vanilla extract (or less to taste)

Pinch of salt (optional)

Directions:

  1. With a mixer, mix together the softened butter and shortening until light in color.
  2. Slowly add the powdered sugar in small batches, making sure that it is incorporated before adding more. Use a spatula to scrape down the sides often.
  3. Once all the sugar is incorporated, add the vanilla and mix thoroughly.
  4. The frosting will be thick at this point. Add the milk or cream slowly, one Tablespoon at a time until it reaches the consistency desired. You may have to add more depending on the humidity.
  5. Store in the fridge until ready to use, being sure to soften and whip again before using.

Makes about 48oz of frosting. I’ve kept this in the freezer for over a month. Be sure to store it in an airtight container and re-whip before use.

I’ve also used this recipe and added marshmallow fluff to cut the sweetness as desired by clients.

One thought on “Independence Day Flag Cake

  1. […] navigation ← Independence Day Flag Cake I’ll be back s… → Jul 16 […]

Leave a Reply

