Rainbow Cake

I’ve made the Rainbow cupcakes quite a few times– each time with a slightly different result– but this was my first attempt at doing a layer cake with the Rainbow colors.

I love it because it’s fun and colorful and always receives such positive feedback! Despite the amount of food coloring used, people still seem to love the result. Nothing brightens the day quite like a colorful cake!

I began with a white cake batter (enough for 2- 9inch round cake pans). You can use a boxed cake mix or your favorite white cake from scratch– it’s up to you!

I carefully separated the batter evenly into six (6) separate bowls.

Then began the task of tinting each bowl of batter a different color. While I used my Wilton gels (in Violet, Royal Blue, Red-Red, Lemon Yellow, and Kelly Green), you are welcome to use regular food coloring, but your colors may not be as intense. I’ve added a chart of measurements if you decide to use the regular food and egg dyes.

RAINBOW COLOR DROPS OF FOOD COLORING
Purple 9 red and 6 blue drops
Blue 12 drops
Green 12 drops
Yellow 12 drops
Orange 12 yellow and 4 red drops
Red 18 drops

(I’ve also used the Neon Food coloring for the Purple since it comes in Neon Green, Blue, Pink, and Purple.)

Once the bowls were tinted the desired color, I added them one at a time to a well-greased cake pan.

I added the colors in traditional ROY G BIV fashion, being careful to only use about half of the batter in each bowl (I used a 1 ½ Tbs scoop and used 2 ½ scoops for a total about ¼ cup (4 Tbs)). I layered the colors in the center and as I added the next color, the batter was pushed out to the edge of the cake pan.

For the second pan, I added the colors in reverse order (since it will be flipped to fit on top of the first layer).

After baking for the recommended amount of time for the cake I made, I let the cake cool completely before frosting.

I used my white buttercream (recipe here) and coated each layer in a thin crumb coat. I let the crumb coat harden in the fridge for an hour before I frosted the first layer. I decided to do a middle layer in red since I had leftover frosting from my July 4th Cake. You are welcomed to use any color you desire in the middle– and even keep it white if you wish.

I decided to decorate it with colored sugars and sprinkles. You could frost the cake in a fluffy pattern and decorate it however you desire. (If you’re really artistic, you might even try a rainbow on it!) I wanted to keep my design simple.


Sorry I don’t have a few pictures of the inside. The cake was actually made for a client- so I asked her to take a picture of the inside so that I could share it!

Leave a Reply

