Chocolate Peanut Butter-Filled Cupcakes

I cheat recipes. I take ideas from other bloggers. I admit it. This idea I’ve seen all over the web recently, so there isn’t one specific blog to which credit is due. But, I love chocolate and peanut butter together. There’s NO way that this combination could ever taste bad– right?

I’ve yet to find a way, if there is one. This recipe certainly isn’t it!

Let’s get down to business:

First, I mixed up some peanut butter balls following a tried and true recipe that I’ve been using for years from Gale Gand and the Food Network. I’ve tweaked the recipe to my own liking- often adding more powdered sugar or more peanut butter. I’ve also added my own special secret ingredient.

After cutting the mixture in half, I found the mixture to be rather crumbly. I wanted them to be easily rolled into balls, so I added my special ingredient to the one batch.

I added some vanilla extract to the remaining mixture in order for that not to be as crumbly.

I formed 12 Jack Balls and 12 regular balls. I used the remaining mixture to make mini peanut butter balls which I decided to use as decoration instead of a miniature peanut butter cup. (I had the left over peanut butter mixture- so why not use it, right?)

I rolled them into balls and put them in the fridge.

I tried to drizzle melted chocolate over the mini peanut butter balls, but I’m clearly no chocolatier. If you wanted to- you could dip them into melted chocolate to top off your cupcakes, but it’s optional. I wanted to showcase the most peanut butter flavor that I could!

Then I mixed up some chocolate cake. It’s your choice to do a batter from scratch or from a box. I just needed enough cake for about 24 cupcakes.


After the batter was mixed I added a bit to the bottom of the lined cupcake tray.
I topped it with one of the larger peanut butter balls.


Then I added more cake batter to cover the peanut butter ball. I added chocolate chips to the tops of the ones that contained alcohol. (I had also added a bit of alcohol to the cake batter I used to coat the bourbon peanut butter balls.–Extra dose!) *Be sure to make up or dish out the batter you plan to use for the alcohol-free ones if you decide to go half and half like I did.*

I baked the cupcakes according to the necessary directions and the whole house had the aroma of chocolate cupcakes! (Baking is really cathartic! The aromatherapy is amazing!)

I already had a batch of peanut butter buttercream leftover from a previous cake. It was frozen and after thawing, I piped it onto the cooled cupcakes. I ran out of the peanut butter, so I just used some leftover vanilla buttercream for the remaining. I mixed it with some marshmallow fluff to create a ‘fluffernutter’ type cupcake.
I topped each cupcake with a mini peanut butter ball and drizzled with some chocolate glaze. I added mini chocolate chips (once again) to the cakes containing alcohol.

 

The inside got a little hard (but still tasted delicious!) so if I make them again I will definitely be using a creamier peanut butter ball recipe. If you want to save yourself the trouble of making your own peanut butter ball- you can always fill the cupcakes with a miniature Reese’s Peanut butter cup!

Leave a Reply

