Easy Apple Faux Dumplings

My mom LOVES apple dumplings. I have to hear about it all autumn long and every time she visits Shady Maple Smorgasbord for someone’s free birthday meal.

She swears they’re too hard to make. I’m not so sure they would be, but she had tried this faux dumpling recipe at a Tupperware party and insisted that they were the most amazing thing next to the real dumplings. I’ll have to take her word for it since I don’t like cooked apples.

She brought home the recipe, then I found out that the recipe was actually Pioneer Woman’s. I always try to give credit to the source, so I’ve lost a bit of respect since Tupperware seems to be passing it off as their own, but, I really can’t say who had it first, so I’ll try to not be too judgmental about that. Of course- I’ve recently seen this recipe various times on pinterest. I can promise you that they are delicious. Everyone will rave about them!

Legalities aside, I decided to make them.

Image

Yes, the look burnt- but it’s really just the cinnamon I sprinkled on top for extra measure. I was told they didn’t taste burnt at all. But, it sure doesn’t look that pretty in a picture, I’ll admit that.

I gathered all my ingredients:
One stick of butter (sounds like a terrible way to start a recipe- right?) 😉

100_3808Pillsbury Cresent Rolls. I only had the seamless dough on hand, but it’s preferable to use the old fashioned cresents that are perforated.
100_3814Sugar…100_3813An apple and soda. The recipe calls for granny smith, but I used a Gala apple instead. The recipe also called for Mountain Dew- but Ginger Ale worked just fine. I’ve seen other recipes call for 7Up, so I think as long as it’s clear or citrusy, it should be fine. I’d be curious to know if a cola works though.
100_3815You’ll also need vanilla and cinnamon.
You’ll need to peel the apple.

100_3817Then cut it up into eight sections. I don’t have a fancy apple slicer, so I just used a knife and made sure to cut out a small wedge for the core and seeds.

100_3821Then you’ll begin with your dough. You’ll want to unroll your can of dough100_3822

Since mine wasn’t already into the triangles, I used a pizza cutter to make them. They didn’t turn out even, but it’s okay!100_3824

You’ll need eight triangles- one for each apple slice. Roll up one apple slice per triangle:100_3833100_3835

Put the covered slice into an 8×8 baking dish that’s been greased. Repeat this process for the remaining apple slices.100_3839

Melt your butter, add to it the sugar, cinnamon, and vanilla and stir vigorously to combine.100_3832

You’re going to pour this brown goodness over your dumplings.

100_3842Then you’ll use about half the can of soda and pour it over top.

100_3844I added an extra sprinkle of cinnamon over top for good measure:100_3846

Now it’s ready to bake! a 350 degree preheated oven for about 35 minutes will do the trick. It smells magical while baking.

I’ve used an adapted recipe from The Pioneer Woman and Tupperware. The original called for twice as much and used an entire can of Mountain Dew. I don’t personally like using Mountain Dew- but if you’re fine with it- by all means, use it! I don’t think that the ginger ale changed the flavor that much, as most folks say they can’t taste the Mountain Dew in the regular recipe anyway. I’d imagine you can even use a diet soda if you’re looking to save on calories, although, with a stick of butter in the recipe, I’m not sure switching to a zero calorie soda really makes much difference.

Easy Apple Faux Dumplings

Ingredients:
1 apple (granny smith or other baking apple)
1 tube of Pillsbury Cresent Rolls (8 cresents)
1 stick of butter
3/4 cup of sugar
1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon
Splash of vanilla extract
6 oz of soda (Mountain Dew, Ginger Ale or other clear citrusy flavor work best)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees
1- Peel apple and core and slice into 1/8 sections.
2- Open the Cresent roll dough and unroll. Separate into 8 triangles.
3- Using 1 of the apple sections per triangle, roll the dough around the apple wedge. Place in a greased pan.
4- Repeat above step until all slices are wrapped and in the pan.
5- Melt the butter in a measuring cup or medium bowl.
6- Add sugar, vanilla. and cinnamon to the melted butter and mix vigorously.
7- Pour over the wrapped apple slices.
8- Open the can of soda and measure out 6oz. Pour this over the apple dumplings.
9- Place in the preheated oven for about 35 minutes.
10- Serve warmed with ice cream or whipped cream or enjoy as is. Can be served room temperature, if preferred.

Leave a Reply

